Department of Physics

Summer and Senior Research

NSF - Summer in Paris experience

Click here to learn about a great summer research experience in Paris

Summer Research 

Group Photo of Physics Students

Each summer, several students perform research with Xavier faculty, funded in part through the generosity of the John Hauck Foundation. Our summer research community fosters and promotes dialogue and exchange of ideas between all student and faculty members. Consequently, students are able to achieve the three main goals of our summer research program: to hone their research skills by learning topics not taught in the classroom, to enhance their ability to communicate complex ideas in a clear and concise manner, and to feed their enthusiasm for studying science.

Senior Research

Group Photo of Physics Students with Professors

The Physics Research (PHYS 395) and Physics Thesis (PHYS398) courses are capstone experiences designed to give students an opportunity of applying the scientific method toward an independent and creative exploration of a topic in physics that is of interest to them. This exploration can be a new endeavor, or the continuation of an ongoing project in which the student has been involved. Students are expected to complete the majority of their research during the fall semester, thereby allowing them sufficient time to focus on the presentation of their result during the spring semester.

Outstanding Research in Physics Award

The physics faculty presents the student deemed to have performed the highest quality independent research with an Outstanding Research in Physics Award. Recipients of this award are presented below:

Photo of Tim Horton

2012 - Tim Horton

Photo of Jake Heath

2013 - Jake Heath

Photo of Teckla Akinyi

2014 - Teckla Akinyi


Photo of Ben Kelty and Michael Crowe

2014 - Ben Kelty and Michael Crowe

Photo of William O'Meara

2015 - William O'Meara

Photo of Vince Shaw

2015 - Vince Shaw

Photo of Patrick Gemperline

2016 - Patrick Gemperline

Photo of Anthony Plochocki

2017 - Anthony Plochocki

Photo of Alex Nahas

2017 - Alex Nahas

Photo of Ryan Caliguri

2018 - Ryan Caliguri

Photo of Collin Terry

2020 - Colin Terry